Browse library


Adult fiction: General and Social

View all categories »
Hide book summaries »

1074 results (results 31 to 40)
Page: 123456789»

A Little Love, A Little Learning

Author: Nina Bawden

Publisher: Virago (1990)

By the author of "Circles of Deceit" and "Tortoise by Candlelight", this novel shows the fragility of a family's equilibrium. Three children live with their mother and are happy in the love of their stepfather. The arrival of an aunt and the adolescent worries of the girls sets up tensions.

You need to sign in to download this book

A Little Tour Of France

Author: Henry James

Publisher:

You need to sign in to download this book

A Man Called Ove

Author: Fredrick Backman

Publisher: Sceptre (2015)

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US. New York Times bestseller 'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail 'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...

You need to sign in to download this book

A Man Of Parts

Author: David Lodge

Publisher: Vintage (2012)

Sequestered in his blitz-battered Regent's Park house in 1944, the ailing Herbert George Wells, 'H.G.' to his family and friends, looks back on a life crowded with incident, books, and women. Charting his unpromising start as a draper's assistant to his rapid rise to fame as a writer with a prophetic imagination, his immersion in socialist politics and his belief in and practice of free love, A Man of Parts is an astonishing novel of passion, ambition and controversy.

You need to sign in to download this book

A Message From The Sea

Author: Charles Dickens

Publisher:

You need to sign in to download this book

A Miscellany Of Men

Author: G K Chesterton

Publisher:

A collection of classic short stories by the beloved writer, G.K. Chesterton. The stories include: The Suffragist, The Poet and the Cheese, The Thing, The Man Who Thinks Backwards, The Nameless Man, The Gardener and the Guinea, The Voter and the Two Voices, The Mad Official, The Enchanted Man, The Sun Worshipper, The Wrong Incendiary, The Free Man, The Hypothetical Householder, The Priest of Spring, The Real Journalist, The Sentimental Scot, The Sectarian of Society, The Fool, The Conscript and the Crisis, The Miser and His Friends, The Mystagogue, The Red Reactionary, The Separatist and Sacred Things, The Mummer, The Aristocratic 'Arry, The New Theologian, The Romantic in the Rain, The False Photographer, The Sultan, The Architect of Spears, The Man on Top, The Other Kind of Man, The Mediaeval Villain, The Divine Detective, The Elf of Japan, The Chartered Libertine, The Contented Man, and The Angry Author: His Farewell.

You need to sign in to download this book

A Model

Author: Anais Nin

Part of a series: Penguin 60s

Publisher: Penguin (1995)

Seven erotic tales of sensuous sexual fantasy. Anaïs Nin was born in Paris and spent her childhood in various parts of Europe. She underwent analysis for several years and became acquainted with a wide circle of artists and novelists. Her reputation grew slowly, but the publication of her Journals won her many admirers. In addition to her novels she wrote short stories and erotica. Anaïs Nin received an honorary doctorate from Philadelphia College of Art and was elected to the National Institute of Arts and Letters in 1974. She died in 1977.

You need to sign in to download this book

A Modest Proposal

Author: Jonathan Swift

Publisher:

Swift's devastating short satire on how to solve a famine

You need to sign in to download this book

A Mother's Love

Author: Santa Montefiore

Publisher: Simon & Schuster (2016)

Celeste is mourning the tragic death of her young son, Jack, from leukaemia. So when she learns that her nephew is coming to stay, she doesn't think she can bear to have another child in the house. But when Bruno arrives, she makes him feel welcome and loved, even though her heart is breaking. She finds sanctuary in the little summerhouse at the end of her garden, where the quilt she was making her son lies unfinished, her love and grief stitched into the material. Having another child in the house brings back all her memories, but stirs up the love that has lain dormant in her. Can she open her heart again? Can love triumph over loss, and hope flourish once more? A magical and beautiful novella

You need to sign in to download this book

A Pair Of Blue Eyes

Author: Thomas Hardy

Publisher:

A Pair of Blue Eyes, though early in the sequence of Hardy's novels, is lively and gripping. Its dramatic cliff-hanging episode, for example, is at once tense, ironic, feministic and erotic. With settings in Wessex and London, the novel also has some strongly autobiographical features, as the blue-eyed heroine, Elfride Swancourt, is based largely on Emma Gifford, who became Thomas Hardy's first wife. Elfride's vivacious nature attracts several lovers, but she is beset by sexual prejudice, and the ensuing ironies reveal the constraints of her times. A Pair of Blue Eyes provides an engaging and moving experience for today's readers.

You need to sign in to download this book


Page: 123456789»

© Copyright 2005-2020 The Seeing Ear Registered Charity Numbers 1111371 (England and Wales) SC044002 (Scotland)


The Town Hall, Queens Road, Hastings, East Sussex, TN34 1QR, 01424 428133